Only

By Michelle McLean

Only by Michelle McLean

“Kids cost too much,” Mum said.
Our house was a two bed,
Barely room for me to tread,
But I’d have loved a sibling.
Cousins came to stay,
Classmates stopped by to play,
But who’d show me the way,
When I didn’t have a sister?
I had a lot of friends,
Always someone’s ear to bend,
But no guardian to fend
Because I didn’t have a brother.
I longed that I would see,
What it felt to be a ‘we’,
But there was only me
Because they never had another.
Just me.

©Michelle McLean 2016

Leave a Reply

