Andrew Lines: Why I Joined Oldbury Writing Group

Andrew Lines: Why I Joined Oldbury Writing Group

I experimented with writing about 20 years ago. I had some good ideas, but my writing style was poor, so I gave up and decided to forget about it.

In September 2012 I read The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend and felt inspired to try again.

I started writing a comedy in September 2013. The plot was weak at first, but it transformed itself into a Romantic Comedy without much encouragement from its author (fiction often dictates to the writer).

My partner noticed an advert in a newsagent’s window, so I decided to attend the first meeting of Oldbury Writing Group, which was held during August 2014. I wanted to meet other writers and improve my writing style further.

The members have become good friends and always offer beneficial advice. I recommend Oldbury Writing Group to all aspiring writers.

Leave a Reply

